Poll time! What should I read next?

Well folks, we’ve got just ten chapters left in Eragon. And while it’s taken me way too long to get this far, I should finish the book in the next month or so… which means it’s time to get ready for the next one. I’m going for a palate cleanser – not necessarily getting out of the fantasy genre, but getting away from Paolini’s bumbling for a bit before we come back to Eldest. I’ve got a couple options ready:

  1. The Red Necklace, by Sally Gardner. It’s the story of the French Revolution, if you threw in devil worship and G*psy magic and a bland, uninspired love story and told it through the viewpoint of a couple teenagers who only witness events tangentially until the very end. Also kinda racist, what with the emphasis on the Romani having magical powers and all.
  2. Daughter of the Blood, by Anne Bishop. Fantasy matriarchy, complete with overly complicated magic/ranking systems, gruesome depictions of genital mutilation, and looooooots of rape. Touted as being feminist, but really, really isn’t.
  3. Wizard’s First Rule, by Terry Goodkind. I actually haven’t read this one before, but boy have I heard a lot about it (not to mention the author’s ego).
  4. Your choice!

So, there you have it. If nobody votes/there’s a tie, I’ll probably go with The Red Necklace like I originally planned, but I thought I’d give you guys a choice first.

4 comments on “Poll time! What should I read next?

  1. I’m loving your Eragon readings. I tried reading Daughter of the Blood recently (on the advice of someone who said it was the best thing she’d ever read) and I only made it about halfway through before I couldn’t stand it any longer.

  2. I’m curious to see why Terry Goodkind got his reputation, but…*looks at Amazon* 850 pages doesn’t exactly sound like a palate cleanser, even compared to Eragon. If you do attempt that monstrosity, I wish you luck with the slog.

    • Most of what I’ve heard amounts to him resenting the fact that he’s considered a fantasy author, because he writes “real” literature. Unfortunately it’s a view he shares with one of my favorite authors, Philip Pullman.

      I never thought to consider the page count… hmm. It’s winning the poll so far, but if another book pulls ahead I’ll probably save Goodkind for when I finally finish the Inheritance series.

Leave a Reply

